RSS

Things I think about #2 : Senses

06 Nov

Something else that I started doing when I wrote Romance Fiction for the first time, but have found myself doing all the time now, is asking…

“What sense is being used in this scene?”

Sure my Main Character can walk into a room, and tell us what he sees.  But to make us truly feel what he feels in the room, maybe he can smell something.  Maybe the doorknob was rough when he opened the door.  Did it squeak when he pushed it?

He may have walked out of the room quickly, but maybe we only know that because of the feel of the wind on his face.

And just what does an oyster taste like?

I try to make sure that on each page, I am describing the scene with a different sense.  It is not necessary to use all 5 at once, or to use them in order like a rotation.  But I try to make sure I am not neglecting any of them in the long term story.

Sometimes I go back over the manuscript and mark each paragraph in a different colour depending on the sense being used to describe it.  And if there is too much green, and not enough blue, then I need to think about that one.

Do you think about this?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Ponderings

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Things I think about #2 : Senses

Leave a Reply

 
