RSS

Editing

12 Jul

428573_123376467800536_358912057_n

Do you let anybody else read your work before you are finished editing?

I find it incredibly hard.  I always have found it difficult to let anybody read something I have written. My first job involved writing letters in my boss’s name, and getting him to sign them.  I used to be so nervous I was afraid to go into his office with the files. 

Even to this day, when I am preparing something, I do not like to people see the work-in-progress.  Whether it is a poem, or a Bible Study, I get nervous when I see someone else reading it.

I can sympathise with the woman who went and hid her manuscript in a locked box after submitting it to her publisher, because she was afraid that someone would break in and read it.  I really can understand that.

However, on a serious note, I think there is value in having somebody look at your work before you declare it finished.  Whether you are editing your own book, or submitting it to a professional editor, I think it is probably a good idea to get some ideas to work from first.

So what do you do?  Do you prefer to do it all yourself, or do you get input while you are still in the editing stage?

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2012 in Editing

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Editing

  1. happyvalleygirl

    July 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    I used to not like it, but now I’m too old to be embarrassed! LOL! I usually let my sister read my stuff or at least ask her to give me feedback on my blog posts. She is a very talented writer-unpublished- but the novel she started was fascinating and I don’t even like fiction!

     

Leave a Reply

 
