RSS

Win!

13 Feb

Last week one of our local radio stations had a Valentine’s Day contest.  Each day they would choose one love poem written and sent to them, and the winner would get a box of dried fruit and nuts.  Then on Friday they put all the five winners’ names into a hat, and pulled one out for the grand prize… a romantic evening complete with limousine ride, dinner, spa treatment and overnight accommodation.  

Well, I found out about it on Friday, and popped them a quick four line poem.  (The limit was four lines.)

My love, I want your heart
more than the TV remote control.
(But if I could have BOTH,
my life would be made whole.)

It won on Friday.  It was very exciting.

Unfortunately my name wasn’t drawn out for the grand prize, but I guess a box of nuts is still something.

I suppose technically I will put this down as my first prize for a poetry contest.  Next stop, fortune and glory!

Bookmark and Share

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in For the readers

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
