RSS

Christian Encounters : J.R.R. Tolkien

01 Oct

_140_245_Book_234_cover

I have never read any of the other books in the Christian Encounters series, so I do not know how this compares.

I did find the "Christian Encounter" aspect to be a little… restrained. Little mention was made of his faith, although I did enjoy reading how much he influenced C.S. Lewis in his.

 

The facts were a little dry, and I found the book skipped over a LOT. I suppose it was trying to be readable while still informative, however I found it a little simplistic. I am not sure if it is perhaps aimed at the Young Adult or older children market, but if so it was a little too academic.

I did learn quite a bit that I did not previously know, but I would have preferred more of an insight into his inspirations and influences, not just his basic history.

 

I review for BookSneeze®

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Christian Encounters : J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. C. Beth

    October 1, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Good, honest review…. I think I’ll skip this one. 🙂 Being inspired = good. Being bored = bad.

     
  2. Renate

    October 7, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Whoah… Too simplistic for you, but too academic for young adults? Ahem! Yeah, I know, the younger generation… blah, blah, the good old days… blah… but are we (young adults) that bad? 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
