RSS

30 Day Challenge #12: A book so emotionally draining I could not finish or had to set it aside for a bit.

12 Sep

What a long title for this post.  I better make sure my post is longer than that I suppose.

I do not recall a book so emotionally draining that I had to set it aside.  However I have blogged before about how disturbing I found it to read this book.

The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood. 

I found the book incredibly disturbing, and I can’t say why.  I am not usually affected this badly by dystopian literature, and while 1984 and Fahrenheit 451 are equally horrific, this book seemed to have an added emotional impact I can’t put my finger on.

It tells the story, in the first person, of Offred.  Offred is a precious national resource in the (not too)-futuristic  theocracy of Gilead.  She is a “handmaid”, which means she is little more than a slave, kept for her ability to breed. 

It is a good book, but not easy to read.

Learn more about the 30 Day Challenge here.

Bookmark and Share

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 12, 2011 in 30 Day Book

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
