RSS

30 Day Challenge #5 : A non-fiction book that I actually enjoyed

05 Sep

Again I do not know how to respond to today’s prompt.  A non-fiction book that I actually enjoyed?  I do actually enjoy non-fiction.

I read biographies, histories, theology and other non-fiction almost as much as I read fiction.  In fact when I visit a library, I make it a point to take out at least 20% of my books from the non-fiction section.

Mere Christianity A non-fiction book that I have read and re-read, and which I love completely is Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis.  Of course the atheists and cynics among you might argue that this is fiction, but nevertheless…

Lewis was a gifted theologian, and a great story-teller.  He made faith easy to understand, without shying away from some of the more difficult aspects.  Each time I read this book I discover some new treasure.

So this would probably qualify as my favourite work of non-fiction. 
(After the Bible of course, but this one is much easier to hold in bed.)

For more on the 30 Day Book Challenge, go here.

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in 30 Day Book

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “30 Day Challenge #5 : A non-fiction book that I actually enjoyed

  1. Ris

    September 5, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Mere Christianity = Awesome

     
  2. David

    September 5, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    This would definitely have to be a candidate for my own favorite non-fiction book (besides the Bible), especially for its sheer usefulness!

    I did a Book Meme in May, which was very fun, though it didn’t have this topic. It’s an interesting one for someone like me, who reads mainly fiction.

     

Leave a Reply

 
