RSS

30 Day Challenge #2 – Least Favourite Book

02 Sep

Hmmm.

Tough one.

I said yesterday that I don’t really have a favourite book, and I suppose having a least favourite is just as hard.  I have read some real rubbish out there, although as a general rule I no longer finish books I don’t enjoy.

I stopped reading The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Moby Dick and The Colour Purple.  All great books, but I wasn’t getting into any of them.

But the worst book I ever finished?

Probably this one.

the-catcher-in-the-rye-cover1

The narrator is whining and annoying, and not in an endearing way.  It made my brain hurt just to listen to him think.  It was easier to follow the sociopathic, ramblings in a made-up language of Alex in A Clockwork Orange than to have to be in Holden Cauldfield’s head for 50,000 words.

Just saying.

Let us not forget that John Hinkley Jr and Robert John Bardo both carried or took this book with them when going off to kill famous people, and Mark David Chapman quoted from it at his trial as a motivation for shooting John Lennon.

Need I say more.

For more on the 30 Day Book Challenge, go here.

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in 30 Day Book

 

2 responses to “30 Day Challenge #2 – Least Favourite Book

  1. DonCharlieV

    September 2, 2011 at 8:43 am

    That book is a close second for me, but I never finished it….

     
  2. Ris

    September 2, 2011 at 8:54 am

    I hated Hunchback of Notre Dame. I managed to read through it – only because I was in the Ukraine at the time and desperate for some English. But the only real satisfaction I got was, at the end, to close the book and fling it to the other side of the room. The way it arched through the air a good while (I had a lengthy room at the time), hit the wall and land with a solid thud was just splendid. God only knows how that thing ever got considered a great classic. Seriously.

     

Leave a Reply

 
