RSS

The Principle of the Path – Andy Stanley

08 Jul

_140_245_Book.293.coverThis is another book that I received from Thomas Nelson as part of their booksneeze Blog Review Programme. 

Your Direction, not Your Intention, Determines Your Destination. There is often a tension between where we want to end up in life and the path we choose to get there. We fail to see that having good intentions is never good enough.

 

The intention of the book is sound: Learn to get to where we are going from where we are.  However, as the blurb says… “Your Direction, not your Intention, Determines Your Destination.”  The book promises that it will give us a “Principle of the Path” to guide us.  It does.

It also promises that the book will be “a road map to proper direction and discipline.”  There I am not as convinced.

As I said before, the idea is sound.  We need to look at what we are doing, not what we want to do.  Our intentions are noble, but if we aren’t following them we are not in the correct path.

Just do it.

But the book does not give any concrete examples of how to do this, or strategy for moving in the right direction.  To me, it felt like a text book teaching me something I already know, but not how to apply it.

Maybe the Principle (Direction, not intention, determines destination) was new to some people, but I have read it in a number of similar books.  I expected something more than just a re-hash of old clichés, and I guess that was where I was disappointed.

The book is well written, and easy to read.  Everything about it makes sense.  I just expected… more.  Especially from Andy Stanley.

Bookmark and Share

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
