RSS

Time to write.

12 Jan

Last year, 2010,  marked the 6th year that I have done NaNoWriMo.  The first three years were failures of sorts, i.e. I did not finish.  (Mostly health reasons.)  The last three years I finished my novels, but I do not think I will be publishing any of them anytime soon  

So that means I have three completed, and three uncompleted manuscripts in my drawer.   So, enough with the rough drafts David, time to actually finish something.

This year I am committed to finishing one of these novels.  Well, actually two, because I will be combining.   In 2006, I wrote a novel with the stunning title of I Made the Devil do it.  How can you not like and want to read a novel with a title like that?  It is half-finished, but it was a little… bland.  It needed spice.  Which is where my 2005 novel Only Tuesday, comes in.  I wrote about 25,000 words on this novel, but I never got anywhere.  There were lots of beautiful scenes, and dialogues.  But no point to the novel.  So I am going to rip the guts out of it, and stuff them into I Made the Devil do it.  Then, with some editing and re-writing, I think I will have a decent completed draft to start polishing. 

Watch your bookshelves, because there might be a David Seven original arriving soon.

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2011 in NaNoWriMo, Novel

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Time to write.

  1. Nayes

    January 13, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I’m so glad to know I’m not the only person who does that!

     
  2. davidseven

    January 13, 2011 at 10:09 am

    And I am a trifle concerned that you are using my actions as a benchmark for normality.

    Have we not met before?

    D7

     

Leave a Reply

 
