RSS

What are you reading?

11 Jan

I hate that question : “What are you reading at the moment?”

It is so difficult to answer accurately.

persuasion Do you mean what fictional novel am I reading for pure pleasure at the moment?  Then I guess the answer is Persuasion, by Jane Austen.  I am slowly working my way through the beautiful period prose, and being transported to another world.

The last Jane Austen novel I have never read, I hope to finish it in a week or so.

 

in constant prayer Except that at the same time, I am also reading some non-fiction in the form of In Constant Prayer, by Robert Benson.  A book out of the Ancient Practices series, it is a study of worship and prayer, and how they are utilised by Christians, particularly in the Daily Offices.

 

I started it last night, and it looks interesting

But sometimes when I sit down, I want something a little lighter, or something I can walk away from quickly without needing to absorb too much new information.  So laying next to my bed are two other books I am dipping into at the moment for short sections.

1100549 thecloisterwalk

 

I am re-reading selected poems from Seamus Heaney, as well as selected essays by Kathleen Norris from The Cloister Walk.

Both I have read before, but sometimes you just want a quick bite.

Plus, I suppose I am technically reading the Bible at the moment, as I am everyday.  And I still haven’t stopped reading War and Peace, it has just been a leetle while since I picked it up off the floor next to my bed.

So what about you?  What are you reading?

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in books, Ponderings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “What are you reading?

  1. cyndi

    January 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I started off my reading year with a bang! I am currently reading “The Torch of the Testimony” by John W. Kennedy, an interesting take on the history of the church from it’s beginnings and how it affects the church today. I am also reading A.W.Tozer’s “The Root of the Righteous”, not light reading, but an A.W. Tozer book is like money burning a hole in my son’s pocket, so I have to read it right away. I’ll go back and re-read it in depth when I’m done the Kennedy book. Each morning and before bedtime or if I have a few down moments, I read a selection from “The Valley of Vision”, a collection of Puritan prayers and prose. If I am in the mood for non-fiction, I read the stack of Reader’s Digests my sister-in-law saves for me or look at Country Magazine.

     
  2. Renate

    January 14, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Awesome! I am so glad to see I’m not the only one who does that! The floor next to my bed is usually littered with books… Which are then quickly shoved underneath the bed whenever someone comes in and I shouldn’t be reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
