RSS

Interesting Times

01 Jan

Recently I was torn between starting two books I had planned for the New Year – Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë, or Persuasion by Jane Austen.

interesting-times-2So I compromised by reading Interesting Times, one of the Discworld Novels by Terry Pratchett.

(Expect reviews of the other two later.)

The oldest and most inscrutable empire on the Discworld is in turmoil, brought about by the revolutionary treatise What I did on my Holidays.  Workers are uniting, with nothing to lose but their water buffaloes.  War (and Clancy) are spreading throughout the ancient cities.

 

It is a novel about Rincewind the Wizzard, Cohen the Barbarian, and a very special butterfly.  The novel bears a strange resemblance to the Chinese Revolution, and it full of clever satire on history, as well as some great puns.

I got this book as part of BookCrossing, and am ready to release it.  If you would like to get your hands on it, give me a call.

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Interesting Times

  1. kingtyrone

    January 3, 2011 at 8:11 am

    According to this reading guide, I only Sorcery and Faust away from Interesting times. 🙂

    You don’t have (or know of) a copy of those, do you?

     
  2. davidseven

    January 3, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Sourcery I can source from somewhere. (I bookcrossed it to someone a while ago, but I don’t think they ever found it lying on their bookshelf)

    (Faust)Eric I don’t have anymore.

     

Leave a Reply

 
