RSS

NaNoWriMo ’10 – Day 2

03 Nov

Wordcount : 5109
Moral : 8

“Why exactly did we get divorced again Katherine?” he asked. “Don’t you think it is about time we gave it another chance?”

Her face clouded over.

“Jeffrey, I served summons on you to try and get your attention. I left you, and you didn’t even notice for three days. I was trying to remind you that I was alive.”

Jeffrey frowned.

“So what happened?”

“You didn’t defend it. Remember.”

He glanced sheepishly at his typewriter.

“I was in the middle of something.”

“Look Jeff, we’ve been through this before. You are a brilliant writer, which is why I still represent you. But you’re an arsehole to live with. I just needed my space.”

Jeffrey looked at his lunch plate, and saw where she had taken a bite out of his Tuna Sandwich.

“And yet you spend more time here than you ever did when we were married. Funny that.”

“Jeffrey, you are my best client, but…”

“Kat, I am your only client.”

“Don’t get too full of yourself Jeffrey. The only reason you are still with me is because no other agent will put up with your crap.”

“And the only reason you keep me on your books is because no other author will trust you after….”

“Yes, yes!” she interrupted. “So it looks like we’re stuck with each other.”

“Until death do us part,” he smiled.

“Don’t give me ideas,” she said, reaching for the rest of his sandwich.

The problem with characters in a novel is that they won’t just sit quietly and do what they are told.  My attention wandered for a moment or two, and I discovered that my main character used to be married to his literary agent, and that theirs is now an incredibly disfunctional relationship where even in divorce they can’t get seperate.  And it looks like the assistant she hired to keep him out of trouble might actually have a crush on him.

Huh???

For a daily summary of my NaNoWriMo project, go here.  Or go to my page and find out more about NaNoWriMo.

Bookmark and Share

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2010 in NaNoWriMo, Novel

 

3 responses to “NaNoWriMo ’10 – Day 2

  1. kingtyrone

    November 3, 2010 at 8:52 am

    That’s awesome! see where it goes… 🙂

     
  2. Nayes

    November 3, 2010 at 8:52 am

    I’m hoping this Katherine of yours gets brutally murdered. That happens right? Because that would really sort out a whole bunch of problems for me.

     
  3. davidseven

    November 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Uh…. okay.

    Actually she was originally Katerina, but it sounded too exotic when I realised she was going to be his ex, so I just changed it half-way through a conversation.

    Because I’m a writer, and I can do that.

    Mwa ha ha! The power!! The power!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
