RSS

Ready Writers

18 Oct

One of the regular series on this blog is called Faith and Writing, wherein I explore the connection between my faith, and my writing.  For a more complete explanation of why I consider my faith to be tied-up with my writing, might I suggest this post.

Well, about a year ago I was attending a quite day, and doing some meditation on Psalm 45, when I came across verse 1.

My heart is stirred by a noble theme as I recite my verses for the king; my tongue is the pen of a ready writer.

bible-studying-pen-papgerAnd that verse kind of stopped me. Am I being a ready writer?  I know in the context it is referring to reciting verses of praise, but it got me thinking about how I use my pen.

Am I a ready writer?  Am I ready to use my pen to praise my King?

So I decided to register a new blog, called Ready Writer.  I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it yet, but I decided to register it anyway. 

Except that I couldn’t.  The name was already taken. (By someone who isn’t even using it!!)  Then, while fiddling with other names, I found that Ready Writers was not taken yet.  So I registered that as a blog. 

And then I realised why I was supposed to set up a different blog; because it wasn’t going to be just mine.  I see it as a blog of some sort with many ready writers using their pens to glorify their King.

But I don’t know exactly how it is going to work. 
Am I going to use it like a Christian writing journal and ask for submissions? 
Am I going to do (daily/weekly) writing prompts and encourage writers to post on the blog? 
Am I going to do a combination of both?

Enquiring minds want to know.

What do you think?  Drop me a line, and tell me how you think I should do this thing.

Thank you.

 

Oh, yes.  The blog can be found here.

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2010 in Faith and Writing

 

2 responses to “Ready Writers

  1. africanstardust

    October 19, 2010 at 6:15 am

    This is such a great idea. I would suggest a Christian journal type thing, but not limit it to nonfiction articles. Whatever you decide, I think it’s wonderful. I’ve often wondered whether I’m really using writing to glorify God.

     
  2. davidseven

    October 19, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Thanks for the comment.

    I already have a blog where I do a nonfiction Christian journal. So I think I am looking for something more in the way of creative writing here.

    Will keep it in mind

    D7

     

Leave a Reply

 
