RSS

Plotting

13 Oct

I have mentioned the NaNoWriMo thing before.  Repeatedly.

The point is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November.  Madness?  Maybe, but it’s my kind of madness.

In the past I have come into the month with a clear idea of what I want to write about.  Not a detailed plan, or character sketches – but a basic plot and direction.

This year, I have been doing a lot of reading about how to write, and how to plan novels.  I have read a lot about character development, and setting creation.  I have studied plot tools, and mapping techniques.  I would like to experiment with being well prepared, and see how it compares with the seat-of-the-pants approach I have adopted in the past.

But so far, I got nothing.

I don’t know if my 2010 novel wants to be a Space Opera about Pirate Ninjas, or a literary fiction tome about Russian Immigrants to Canada.  I don’t know if there will be killer watermelons, or just names with 26 letters, and no pronouncable vowels.

I am running out of prep time, and strongly suspect that come 31 October I am going to have nothing in mind except the vaguest of notions, or a title.

Sigh.

Maybe next year.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in NaNoWriMo, Novel

 

One response to “Plotting

  1. SidNata

    October 14, 2010 at 6:18 am

    Sit back, and give yourself a break!! Just write, and see where you land 😉

    Good Luck, and I hope to see you at the 50,000 word finish line 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
