RSS

Let’s Do Lunch – Roger Wilson

04 Sep



This is another book that I received free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

I was attracted to the book because of its subtitle “Eating all the CALORIES and CARBS you want to lose weight!”  Unfortunately this is slightly misleading, as the diet does restrict your intake of Rice, Potato, Bread and other carbs. Nevertheless, the principles seem sound – eat lots, until you feel full.

The story itself is quite inspirational.  Wilson tells us how he can to realise he needed to lose weight, as well as the steps he took, mixed up with the dietary insights he gained.  I am quite happy to try this, and will be changing my diet for a while to see if it works. I read the book in one sitting, and will be re-reading once or twice to get the full benefit of the advice and suggestions.

The actual diet, and recipes, are a little more restrictive than I was led to belief.  Sweets are replaced with fruit, bread with beans, and meat with turkey.  I can learn to live with that I think.
Also of concern, is that as a non-US reader, a lot of the products mentioned are unique or peculiar to the US, and I have to try and research them to figure out how to substitute.

But, as a diet book, I suppose the proof is in the (lack of) pudding, so I will give it a fair chance, and let you know how it works.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 4, 2010 in books

 

Leave a Reply

 
