RSS

Writing Group

05 Jul

This last week, I realised just how far behind my writing is.  A few people I know have spent the last six or seven months editing their NaNoWriMo novels, and have got them ready to take advantage of a special offer to have a copy printed professionally.

And once again, I have done no editing.  Worse than that, I can’t find anything new I have written this year, apart from my Biblios Hokku project.

I need a bit of motivation I think.

So it was rather fortuitous that a friend of mine is wanting to start a Writer’s Group.  I am usually rather wary of such groups, because:
a) Without professional/published writers, they can be a little dangerous;
b)   They encourage people to talk about writing, rather than actually write;
c)    If they are not well run, they can discourage, rather than assist.

I am however keen to see how this one pans out, and if nothing else, will hopefully lead to some new motivation.  At the very least, it will introduce me to some fresh victims volunteers for NaNoWriMo this year. 🙂

So here’s holding thumbs, and heading for the writing table.

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2010 in Ponderings

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Writing Group

  1. moonblue

    July 20, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    How is this working out? I have been a member of a monthly writing group for many years and find it really helpful. Even if I have done nothing else all month, I will come away with two or three pieces. And there is an element of peer pressure to bring something new for feedback.

    moonblue

     

Leave a Reply

 
