RSS

Swearing

14 Jun

I don’t swear.  At least not very often.  In fact, I make quite a conscious effort not to.

When it comes to my writing, I have very similar principles.  I never swear.

The main reason is because I consider it to be lazy.  I used to have a sticker on my wardrobe that said “Swearing is a crutch for conversational cripples.”  I thought that was quite true.  Swearing immediatly tells people that you are angry/upset/emotional.  Why choose a word that has no real meaning to do that for you, rather than craft a real sentence, that expresses your real feelings?  Pure laziness.

It’s the literary equivalent of introducing a cute dog into a film just so you can kill it.  Trying to manipulate emotions, rather than creating them.

Also, I don’t like the look of swearing.  I know that is silly, but it is true.  I can hear swearing without too much concern, but I don’t like the way it looks in print.  It just jars when I read it.  So if I find it smoother to read a piece without swearing it it, why shouldn’t I have the same consideration for my readers?

I guess the point is that my decision not to swear is more artistic than ethical.

(And also so I can get my mother to read my first book.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2010 in Ponderings

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Swearing

  1. Ash

    June 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    “Swearing is a crutch for conversational cripples.” I’ll definitely keep this in mind.

    Cheers.

     
  2. theycallmemoseley

    September 15, 2011 at 9:52 am

    I think that’s true that colloquial swearing is lack of things for a person to say, like someone who uses a lot of cliches. But in fiction it’s good for emphasising a feeling through a characters dialogue. If it jars (as you say it does) then it has achieved the desired effect. I think it’s an important part of fictional dialogue. I could still limit my everyday use of it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
