RSS

Writing can be fun?

17 Nov

I just posted this as a guest post over at SA Romance Writers.  Don’t worry, it’s not all about romance, so go check it out.  🙂

So it is now nearly two thirds of the way through NaNoWriMo and as I write this I am slightly ahead of schedule (Slightly). This year I went for the slow and sure approach rather than the fast and furious. What I mean is that I am writing the whole novel by hand. Madness? Possibly; But enjoyable madness.

50000 in 30 days is madness and we all need some way to make it fun for us as we do it, as with any writing. For you, that might be wearing a silly hat while you write, or rewarding yourself for every thousand words. For me, the way to make it fun, is to feel the old-fashioned delight of watching word after word appear indelibly on my page. It fills me with a sense of satisfaction like no other, even on the days I only write 50 words. Writing by hand makes me feel more like a writer, and less like a typist. It makes it feel more like creativity, and less like work. It lets me put the book down with a feeling of accomplishment at the end of each day, which I will never get from switching off a computer.

What makes writing fun for you? How do you keep it interesting for the time it takes to struggle through? Why am I asking so many questions?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2009 in NaNoWriMo

 

3 responses to “Writing can be fun?

  1. Amanda Holly

    November 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Hey David!

    Thanks for posting with us today! I know as a romance writer I’m supposed to be living in a pink fluffy cloud but seriously … writing by hand?? Eish! I can type a lot faster than I can write so hats off to you for doing it! I also love the feel of the ink pen scratching over the paper but honestly – by hand?? I barely made it to the end of the month with 50,000 words last year and I can promise you there’s no way on earth I could see myself doing it without my trusty laptop!

    Good luck! May your fingers remain strong and blister free!

     
  2. Jazzqueen

    November 17, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Cool post.
    I’ve also thought about ‘modern writers’ against ‘old fashioned writers’…
    Very interesting point of view. =)

     
  3. Jazzqueen

    November 17, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    P.S. : I’m gonna make a post about this at my blog, if you want, go check it out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
