RSS

It’s the final countdown.

06 Aug

If you have know me for a while, then you know that November is that time of the year when I lose all sense of reality and proportion, and convince myself that it is rational behaviour to try and write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  If you are not familiar with this particular brand of delusion, then I invite you to check it out at www.nanowrimo.org 

In the past I have invited many of you to join me, and have heard many excuses.  Let me be clear – there are legitimate excuses for not doing this:

  1. I just finished my last book, and am too tired to write another one;
  2. I am working three jobs, and can’t really tear myself away;
  3. I am quitting my job and moving to Western Sahara to be a full-time missionary;
  4. I don’t want to, you can’t make me!

Theses are all good excuses.

“I forgot” is not a good excuse. 

So in order to make sure that no-one gets a chance to use the bad excuse… if you are my friend, I will be harassing reminding you constantly about the exciting opportunity coming up in November.  Because I love you of course.

And because insanity, like misery, loves company.

Will you be my writing buddy?

Please.

 

Bookmark and Share

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2009 in For the readers

 

2 responses to “It’s the final countdown.

  1. moonblue

    August 6, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Oh good. One less person I have to harrass, urm, remind or nag or otherwise entice into the nanowrimo mindset. Note how I am already using far more words than needed in this. Is it November yet?

     
  2. Rick

    August 20, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I’m new to your blog, but I’m intrigued by your challenge! I don’t quite understand what it is, but…cool!

     

Leave a Reply

 
