RSS

Biblios Hokku

04 Aug

chickenhaiku600

I love Haiku.  I really do.  I consider to be one of the finest poetic styles.  It is so pure, and so complex.  It takes more than just a 5-7-5 format to make a true Haiku; you need the right structure, and style, and subject.  You need to have the correct line breaks, the natural flow and counterpoint. 

I hear people say that the only thing perfect in this imperfect world is the sonnet, but for me you can’t beat a good haiku.  Maybe because I can’t write sonnets, but that’s another story.

Some of my favourite, and most powerful pieces, are haiku.  See for example bees or golden noise.  Not really pure Haiku, but still quite nice I think.

So I have decided to embark on a new project.  Just because I do not have enough going on in my life yet.  I am going to write the Bible in Haiku.  Now I’m sure some person has already done this, but I think it will be an interesting experiment. 

Each book will be one haiku.  So 66 Haiku in total.  And because I am feeling stubborn and bloody minded I will be doing them in order. 
I will publish each piece on the page titled “Biblios Hokku” so that you can read it all together. 

Biblios Hokku

By faith, for service
our worth only in His eyes
we are saved for Him

Bookmark and Share

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2009 in Biblios Hokku

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
