RSS

Numbers don’t lie

19 Jul

I saw a girl in the park last week
I think she was a nine.
She was with a friend – a seven or eight.
Both of them were fine.

I glanced at my boyfriend
Wondering if he would see
and say to himself.
“I can do better than a three.”

I’m pretty sure he saw them
But he didn’t stop and stare.
Instead he turned to look at me
and ran his fingers through my hair.

I couldn’t keep my silence
and had to get it out;
So I pointed to the girls,
and told him of my doubt.

“In the end,” he replied,
“When all is said and done,
why would I settle for a ten?
When I’ve got the perfect one.”

 

 

 

Inspired by this prompt

Bookmark and Share

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2009 in Poetry & Prose

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Numbers don’t lie

  1. Mark Penrith

    July 20, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Hi D7,

    You write this?

     
  2. davidseven

    July 20, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Yes. I knocked it together quickly for a writing prompt; to try and use numbers in a poem/prose.

     
  3. Jeeves

    July 20, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Perfect words

     
  4. Mark Penrith

    July 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Hi D7,

    This is great!

     
  5. bobc

    July 26, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder. simple. like most truths.

     

Leave a Reply

 
