RSS

War and Peace

16 Jun

When asked whether I have ever read War and Peace, I usually reply, “Almost three times.”  As prodigious as this sounds, it’s the literal truth.  I have almost read it, three times.  However each time I gave up after a few chapters.

150px-WarAndPeaceI know I should read it, not just because it is a classic, and I need it to complete my 1001 books challenge, but also because I am told it is very good.  But something always puts me off.   This happens occasionally, for instance I have never been able to finish Emma, despite being a huge Jane Austen fan.  Go figure.

But I digress.

MV5BMTU5MzI5NDY2N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzY4ODE3MQ@@__V1__CR0,0,294,294_SS100_Now I see that they will be broadcasting the miniseries on television for three weeks, starting next week.  Obviously I am planning to watch it, but I am wondering whether I should try and read it again, and if it will be better to wait until after the series or not.  Oh well, we’ll see what happens; maybe it will be too heavy to hold in bed, and then I’ll be thwarted again.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2009 in books

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “War and Peace

  1. C. Beth

    June 16, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Oh, Emma is so fantastic!

    Haven’t read War and Peace. I did get through Anna Karenina, and it was good but I wouldn’t read it again. These days with two small children, any book THAT long is quite intimidating.

     
  2. davidseven

    June 17, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    I took it off the shelf last night to start reading. but it was too heavy.

    Literally. I think they poured lead into the spine and covers. 🙂

    I will try again today, when I have a table to lean it on. Now all I need is a pipe and smoking jacket.

    D7

     
  3. C. Beth

    June 21, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Ha! Hope you got further when you tried again.

    Giving you a One-Minute Writing of the Day award over at The One-Minute Writer (for your response to the “Mail” prompt). Congrats! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
