RSS

Review : Little Women

16 Jun

6a00d09e4c4350be2b011016340780860c-500pi

I just finished reading this book today; one more to cross off my list of 1001.  Getting there slowly.

The book tells the story of the March family, more particularly the four sisters living with their mother while their father is off in the US Civil War.  It took me a while to get into it, even though I enjoyed it right from the start. 

It is a wonderfully told story in which you see the four young girls grow, and overcome their childish attitudes, so become little women.  The character development is superb, especially with the “main” character, Jo.  It is quite obvious, even without any knowledge of the background, that the author is trying to tell her own story through Jo, the struggling writer.  Not everyone’s cup of tea I know, but worth the read if you enjoy that sort of thing.

I’ll try to find a book with more death and destruction for next time.  How about War and Peace? 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2009 in books

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Review : Little Women

  1. C. Beth

    June 16, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    This was my FAVORITE book as a kid. I loved the character Beth. (Helped that I shared her name, and was named after someone who was named after the character.) I think I read it a total of four times between 6th grade & college.

     
  2. Wenchy

    June 24, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Love this book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
