RSS

1001 Books to read before you die

11 Jun

Not my list you understand, but rather based on a book by Peter Boxall with the title 1001 Books you must read before you die.   I read through the list, and downloaded an Excel Spreadsheet to help me track how many of them I have read.  Turns out I’m falling badly behind. 

1001booksnew

The premise of the book is that these 1001 writings trace the development of the Novel from its earliest form to the modern novel.  I don’t know if that’s true, since I’ve only read like 75 of the 1001 novels I need to read.  However, I decided it might be a good learning experience to try and work my way through the list and see what I discover.  I think a little “research” might be in order.

So here’s how it’s going to go down y’all. 

I’ve created a page on the side of my site called 1001 books.   You can pop in there any time to see how many I have managed to cross off, and how many I need to read each year to make it before I die.  (Statistically speaking of course.) 

Then after I read each book, I’ll post a review here.  As well as reviews of some of the other books I read.  Time to start talking about what I read as well as what I write.

So stay tuned for a review of my current novel, Little Women.   

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2009 in books

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “1001 Books to read before you die

  1. The Lost Book

    June 30, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Hi David – good luck with the challenge!

    Have you come across the BookCrossing shelf 1001-library? It’s a collection of books on the 1001 list that BookCrossers are willing to share (and post internationally). It might be handy when you’re trying to get hold of all the books:

    http://www.bookcrossing.com/mybookshelf/1001-library

     
  2. davidseven

    July 1, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Thanks for the link. I wasn’t aware of that, but I might be looking into it shortly.

    My problem at the moment is not getting my hands on the books, but through them. I think I have about 20 in my TBR pile for bookcrossing.

    Will read and release on the list maybe.

    D7

     
  3. Crystal Warren

    January 28, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Good idea. I am also trying to read more of these books. Maybe I need to record my progress on my blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
