RSS

Faith and Writing #4 – It’s not just about the chocolate.

03 Feb

It’s not just about the chocolate, but it does help. 

So when I did the crazy NaNoWriMo thing last year, and decided to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days, I knew it couldn’t be done.  But I wanted to do it anyway.  Why?  Because I wanted to be a writer,  and I wanted to write.

At the kick off party in Port Elizabeth, one of the other PE writers offered me a bribe.  TygerKatt asked me what would be a suitable bribe to finish the novel.  I responded that I really liked chocolate.  She was a little unsure,  suggesting that it should be something more valuable or motivational.  I explained, with great passion, that chocolate WAS that important to me, and so the deal was born.  The deal was that if I finished the 50,000 words by the end of the month, she would buy me chocolate.  MoonBlue and StillDormant foolishly fell into the plan as well, and so my motivation was born.

Oh, I do so love chocolate.

So at the end of the month, I finished my novel, and was able to claim my reward.  Much chocolate. 

Let’s be clear, this was not a bet. Nor was the deal that I had to finish first, or even well.  As long as I finished I got to claim my reward. 

So why did I finish?  Was it the chocolate?

No.  Not actually.  If chocolate was all that was important to me, I could have gone and bought some, and saved myself a month of pain and suffering; a month of lost sleep; I could have saved a fortune in pens and paper. 

So why did I finish.  Because I wanted to.  Because I wanted to write, and I wanted to finish the race that was placed before me.  Because being a writer was important to me, and the chocolate was just an added perk.

Okay, that was a long post, but here’s what I was thinking.  Why do we Christians follow Christ?  Is it purely so we can get to Heaven, and earn our reward?  As if we could earn Heaven by being good, anymore than I could earn a slab of chocolate by writing a novel.  I hope not.  Because then we are being selfish, and immature.  We need to be doing what it right, and following Christ, because we want to be Christians.  Our lives have eternal consequences, and we can never ignore that, but we need to be the sort of people who will please GOD now.  Not who it would please him to let in to Heaven later. 

That rather convicted me.  Do I really love him, and want to follow his ways because it is what I want?  Or am I just afraid I might lose the chocolate?

Tough call.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 3, 2009 in Faith and Writing

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Faith and Writing #4 – It’s not just about the chocolate.

  1. DragonChaser

    February 26, 2009 at 5:20 am

    Great thought. Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
