RSS

Faith and Writing #2 – Just do it!

15 Jan

So when I started writing the first draft of my novel on 1 November I was really pumped. I had set myself the goal of writing 2000 words a day. On the first day I did about 5000 words by hand. That was a good day. I had visions of cracking my novel within a week, and spending the rest of November boasting about it, and letting strangers buy me congratulatory drinks.

The mood, sadly, did not last.

By week two I was working hard each day to make my average, and skipping writing altogether on some days.  I guess the thrill had gone. More importantly, the initial excitement had worn off, and now the real work began.  Working at it day after day, even when I felt no motivation, because it was something I ‘wanted’ to be doing.

Sound familiar?

When we are ‘new’ Christians, and by this I include every time we make a fresh commitment, we are usually filled with joy and determination.  This time I am going to follow Jesus, all the time.  Worship?  Bring it on!  Quiet time?  I’ll take two.  Bible study?  Just try and stop me!

And we think it’s going to last forever.   But it doesn’t, does it?  Soon I’m thinking about other things all the time, and finding any excuse to get out ouf praying.  I’ll sit up watching TV until late, and then say “Sorry, I’m a little tired to pray right now. Maybe tomorrow I’ll feel better.”

Well.  We never feel better do we?  Sometimes we just need to do it, even though we don’t feel like it.  Just like I had to keep writing, because I remind myself every day that I want to be a writer, and that I want to write.  I need to remind myself every day why I am doing this faith thing, and what I want to be.  Otherwise I become a slave to my feelings.

Matthew 7:14 says “But the gate to life is narrow and the way that leads to it is hard,  and there are few people who find it.”

121656 people started writing NaNoWriMo with me this year.  Only 21 736 made it by the end of the month.  What was the difference.  Some people lost sight of the gate, and some strayed off the path.  The rest of us did nothing special.  We just kept going, even when we didn’t feel like it.

Feelings last but a moment, eternity lasts forever.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 15, 2009 in Faith and Writing

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Faith and Writing #2 – Just do it!

  1. wellwateredgarden

    January 17, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    When I retired, three years ago, I also wanted to be a writer of books. Over the years I had written short items but now I wanted to write books.

    Writing (and publishing) a novel is a dream I suppose all writers have.

    I decided to stay small. In three years I have written and self-published four booklets (50 +/- pages) and I give them away to whomever I feel led to. The cost to me, not counting my time and in-house cost, is approximately $2 per issue. I have given away in the neighborhood of 1500 books.

    It takes great talent to write novels good enough to be published and ones that will actually sell and make you a living. But short books based on Christian faith and encouragement are totally doable.

    Decide on a topic and determine that fifty pages more or less will allow you to say what you want to say and just head out.

    Take a month to write it, another month to edit and rewrite it, scrape up some money to print it and then see where God wants you to ‘seed’ it, and start the process again.

    My first booklet, “Chasing The Refill” is about renewing one’s relationship with God. I started writing it one early morning after being woken up with the title running through my mind and that first day I wrote two pages.

    I am now writing my fifth booklet and I only write when I feel motivated. I don’t push it.

    I do some blogging (as I am doing now) and reading other peoples’ stuff gives me ideas and encouragement.

    So, go for it and only write when you feel motivated and you won’t get discouraged.

    Hope that helps.

     

Leave a Reply

 
