RSS

Faith and Writing #1 – So you call yourself a writer?

13 Jan
This is the first post in what will hopefully be a series of thoughts on the similarities between writing, and the Christian faith.  Some of these insights came to me in November when I was trying to finish my NaNoWriMo novel, and also prepare lessons for my cell group.  Some of the insights have developed since, as I look back, and see things in a different light.

The first point is this.  What gives me the right to call myself a writer?

While I was doing the insane NaNoWriMo thing, I used to refer to myself as a writer all the time.  To everyone.  In every conversation I had.  After all, why not?  Now many would dispute my right to call myself a writer: after all, I have never written anything professionally, much less profoundly.  So what makes me think I am a writer?

Because I write.

The Oxford English Dictionary defines a writer as : a person who writes or has written something.

So I am a writer.  I am allowed to call myself a writer because I write, regardless of how bad I write, or whether my writing is of any benefit to anyone else.  I ama writer because I write, and because I have chosen to call myself a writer.  However because I choose to call myself a writer, I have to keep writing, otherwise I am just pretending.

Kind of like when we call ourselves Christians? 

I call myself a Christian, although I may very well be the worst one ever.  Just as I call myself a writer because I write, I call myself a Christian because I follow Christ.  The word Christian does not imply that I am very good at it, just as the word writer implies nothing about the quality of the work I produce.  Because we live in a world that expect so much of us, we feel as if we can’t call ourselves Christians, because we are not good examples.  But that is not how it works. 

John 1:12 says “But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.” – English Standard Version

Not, “to all who believed, and were really good at it”  So I guess there is hope for me yet.  I can call myself a writer, and a Christian… because I write, and follow Christ.  

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 13, 2009 in Faith and Writing

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Faith and Writing #1 – So you call yourself a writer?

Leave a Reply

 
